

REQUEST FOR SABBATICAL PROPOSALS

TO: Seaver College Full-Time Faculty

FROM: Kindy De Long

Interim Associate Dean of Seaver College

DATE: March 14, 2019

RE: Sabbatical Applications for 2020-2021

Deadline: Noon, June 3, 2019

CC: Faculty Development Committee

This announcement concerns tenure/tenure-track faculty of Seaver College who will have achieved a minimum of seven years continuous service to the University at the conclusion of the 2019-2020 school year. You may use this decision tree to determine your eligibility for sabbatical leave.

The Dean of Seaver College and the SFA Faculty Development Committee invite proposals for sabbatical leave for the academic year 2020-2021. Proposals should include an <u>application</u>, a current curriculum vitae, and a recommendation from your divisional dean. All materials (including the divisional dean's recommendation) should be received by the Seaver Dean's Office by the June 3 deadline. The application process is described below:

- Discussion. As soon as possible, discuss the sabbatical application process with your divisional dean, whose support is vital and who may be able to advise you on the components of a successful proposal. You are encouraged also to consult with previous sabbatical leave recipients and members of the Faculty Development Committee (listed below) about the application and sabbatical leave process.
- Preparation. Access the application materials <u>at this website</u>.
 The committee advises you to discuss an early draft of your proposal with your divisional dean.
- **Submission to Divisional Dean**. Well before the June 3 deadline, provide a copy of your application and CV to your divisional dean, requesting that a recommendation be submitted directly to me (due by noon, June 3, 2019).
- Submission to Seaver Dean's Office. Email your application and CV to <u>kindy.delong@pepperdine.edu</u> no later than noon, June 3, 2019. I will forward all application materials to the Faculty Development Committee.

Previously successful sabbatical leave proposals have focused on specific projects within the discipline, significant curriculum development, and professional re-tooling. The criteria for evaluating sabbatical leave proposals include:

- A. Quality of the proposal, including clarity, feasibility, and depth.
- B. Significance and long-term benefits of expected products (e.g., book, articles, exhibitions, performances, syllabus revision, curriculum development, etc.)
- C. Benefit to the faculty member as a teacher and scholar.
- D. Benefit to Seaver College and its students.
- E. The faculty member's years of service to the university.
- F. Effect of the person's absence on teaching load in the division.

If you are seeking a two-semester sabbatical leave that is contingent upon external funding for the additional semester, apply for a full year (two-semester) sabbatical. In this case, note in your application that the additional semester of leave is contingent upon external funding and identify the granting agency. Provide as much detail as possible concerning the external funding request and indicate the likely decision date for the award. Indicate also the desired semester of leave, in the case that external funding is not secured and the sabbatical leave is thus shortened to a single semester.

Colleagues who have recently taken a sabbatical leave can attest to the renewal that this "creativity contract" has brought to them. We look forward to receiving your proposal!

Recent Sabbatical Leave Recipients

Fall or Spring 2018-2019

Bert Ballard, Ryan Board, Cynthia Colburn, Levon Goukasian, Loan Kim, Kelle Marshall, Brian Newman, Candice Ortbals, Garrett Pendergraft, Robert Sexton, Julianne Smith, James Thomas

Fall or Spring 2017-2018

George Carlsen, Randy Chesnutt, Stewart Davenport, Craig Detweiler, Ron Highfield, Don Thompson

Fall or Spring 2016-2017

Ronald Batchelder, Dan Caldwell, Paul Contino, Michael Folkerts, Bradley Griffin, Jennifer Harriger, Rebecca Kim, Elizabeth Krumrei Mancuso, Ginger Rosenkrans

Fall or Spring 2015-2016

Cyndia Clegg, Carrie Birmingham, Joi Carr, Frank Novak, Lila Carlsen, Joel Fetzer, Andrew Yuengert, Timothy Lucas, Susan Helm, Sarah Stone- Watt, Mason Marshall

Fall or Spring 2014-2015

Jonathan Burke, Carolyn Galantine, Loretta Hunnicutt, John Struloeff, Jeff Jasperse, Dyron Daughrity, Kindalee DeLong, Chris Doran, Cindy Miller-Perrin, Robin Perrin, Robert Williams

Fall or Spring 2013-14

Marilyn Misch, Michael Summers, John Jones, Henry Price, Stella Erbes, Joseph Fritsch, Cooker Perkins, Dan Rodriguez, Gary Galles

Fall or Spring 2012-13

Bryan Givens, David Holmes, Gary Selby, Joseph Piasentin, Juanie Walker, Karen Martin, Melanie Emelio, Paul Begin, Priscilla MacRae, Regan Schaffer, Tom Reilly, Michael Sugimoto

Faculty Development Committee Members

Hollace Starr (Fine Arts Division)

Dyron Daughrity (Religion Division)

Cooker Storm (Natural Science Division)

Roshawnda Derrick (International Studies and Languages Division)

Charles Choi (Communication Division)

Joel Fetzer (Social Science Division)

Jon Burke (Business Division, Chair)

Carrie Birmingham (Humanities/Teacher Education Division)